Chinatown Chinese New Year Starr King Parade Team Info

     Photo: Mason Trinca, SF Chronicle, 2/24/18


Photo: Mason Trinca, SF Chronicle, 2/24/18

Video clip of the 2018 team! https://twitter.com/dionlimtv/status/967578297851760640

2019 Parade Team Information

PARADE DATE: Sat. Feb. 23, 2019!
First Practice: Thurs. Jan. 10, 1:45-3:45

Next Practices:
1/10/2019 Thursday 1:40-2:40
1/17/2019 Thursday 1:40-2:40
1/24/2019 Thursday 1:40-2:40
1/31/2019 Thursday 1:40-2:40

2/7/2019 Thursday 1:40-2:40
2/14/2019 Thursday 1:40-2:40
2/21/2019 Thursday 1:40-2:40
2/22/2019 Friday 2:40-3:40, Not yet confirmed

2/23/2019 Saturday Day of Parade, Time TBD

Click here for Team Assignments

The team is self-funded this year — $80/child suggested, but no child will be turned away. Click here to pay by Paypal, or contact the team managers if you want to pay by check.


General INformation and sign-up forms

Happy Year of the Pig next year!  It's supposed to be a year of good fortune and luck.  Starr King sends a parade team to march in the annual Chinatown Chinese New Year parade — join us!

Parade participants can choose one of our three activities:  the dance team, the drum corps, or the dragon.  All groups are co-ed.  If you'd like to join us but can't commit to practicing, we have a few spots for children to walk with Principal Martin holding our Starr King banner too. Parade Coordinator gets final say in activity assignment.  

The team accepts up to 50 Starr King students from grades 1-5 (sorry, kinders!  Next year!), but please check the suggested grade levels for each activity when signing up.